Officers and Committees

2019-2020 Officers

President: Monica Lozano

Monica is a librarian at the Denver Public Library. She graduated in May of 2016, from the University of Texas in Austin with a Master’s of Art in Women’s and Gender Studies and a Master’s of Science in Information Studies. Her master’s thesis applied an interdisciplinary approach to cultural communities and storytelling through oral histories that centers on the creation of the Biblioteca Latinoamericana a branch of the San José Public Library located in San José, California. She has a passion for working with immigrant and Spanish speaking populations. She makes her way to Denver from the Austin Public Library system where she worked as a bilingual Youth Services Librarian prior to leaving.

Vice President: Sylmari Burgos-Ramirez

Originally from Puerto Rico, Sylmarí graduated from the University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus with a Master’s degree in Information Sciences and Technologies. After graduating she worked as the library assistant and former Library and Media Services Coordinator at Saint John’s School in San Juan, PR. In 2016, Sylmarí moved to Boston, MA to pursue a Ph.D. in Library and Information Sciences at Simmons University, focusing on the information needs and behaviors of Spanish-Speaking communities living in the US. She has been awarded the NEASIST Travel Award and the Doctoral Student to ALISE Award in 2017. During her attendance at the 2018 ALISE Conference she participated in the works-in-progress poster session presenting her research, “Information Needs and Behaviors of Spanish-speakers in times of social, economic and political changes.” In 2018 she participated in the 3rd Joint Librarians of Color Conference in the panel “Addressing Gaps between Information Literacy and Emergent Information Needs in Latinx Communities”.

Sylmari serves in the Public Relations Committee of REFORMA National and currently works as a librarian at the Denver Public Library where she continues her research to better serve the Spanish-speaking communities.

Past President: Candy Markle

Candy has been serving in libraries for twelve years, and worked in bookstores for an additional five years. She grew up in San Diego, CA, and loves the west, mountains, and snow, which brought her to Colorado in 2016. She has a background in social justice and believes that libraries can play a critical role in the advancement of historically oppressed populations. She is featured in the book, This Is What a Librarian Looks Like, published in 2017.

Secretary/Historian: Nick Demetriades

Nick is currently a cataloging librarian at Pikes Peak Library District’s Library 21c. He previously worked at East Central University in Ada, Oklahoma, where he served as Technical Services Librarian. Nick received his bachelor’s degree in History at Marist College, and his MSIS from the University at Albany, SUNY. He enjoys hiking in the Rockies and (when back East) Adirondacks.

Treasurer: Orlando Archibeque

Lando received his BA in Sociology/Social Science from Hastings College (1976), his Master’s degree in American Studies from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa (1980), and his MA in Librarianship & Information Management from the University of Denver (1981). He has worked in both academic and public libraries in Colorado his entire professional career. In 1990 he joined the library faculty at the Auraria Library; his position has morphed several times over the years and he is currently serving as Social Science Collection Development Librarian. Lando has long been associated at both national and state levels with REFORMA, an organization which has provided him with many networking, professional development, and leadership opportunities, not to mention long-lasting friendships. His fifteen minutes of fame came in 1998 with the publication of Serving Latino Communities: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians, a book he co-authored with his friend and mentor, Dr. Camila Alire.

2018-2019 Chapter Representative for the Central Region: Nicanor Diaz

Nicanor has been involved with libraries for almost 10 years and a REFORMA member for 6 years. Most of his work has been developing services for undeserved populations including Spanish speakers and new immigrants.  He received his bachelor’s degree in History at the University of Northern Colorado and his MLS from University of Denver. Nicanor was lucky to have the opportunity to work for the National Library in Argentina for 6 months. On the weekends he enjoys playing with his two adorable (really!) basset hounds, Watson and Sherlock.

REFORMA Colorado Committees

These are standing committees comprised of one or more Reformistas. Committees are an excellent way to get involved in REFORMA Colorado.

Website committee- This committee works on all website issues by web mastering, making changes based on member suggestions and updating the material. Current head of the website committee is K.D Hubbard.

Conference Planning Committee- This committee plans and carries out everything to do with the annual REFORMA CO Conference. The 2020 conference chair is Sylmari Burgos Ramirez.

Translation committee– People on this committee must be bilingual and fully literate in English and Spanish, as they will be called upon to translate all sorts of materials for libraries and occasionally other community organizations. Current heads of the translation committee are Viviana Casillas and Nicanor Diaz.

Listserv committee– This group maintains the listserv membership. Current head of the listserv committee is Orlando Archibeque.

Nominations committee– This committee, headed by the past president, is in charge of soliciting nominations for the coming year’s officer elections as well as facilitating the election itself. Current head of the nominations committee is Mary Dodge.

To contact any of the committees, please email

Previous Officers:

2018-2019 Officers

Candy Markle (President), Monica Lozano (Vice President), Viviana Casillas (Past President), Orlando Archibeque (Treasurer), Carolina Saldivar (Secretary)

2017-2018 Officers

Viviana Casillas (President), Candy Markle (Vice President), Mary Dodge (Past President), Orlando Archibeque (Treasurer), Carolina Saldivar (Secretary)

2016-2017 Officers

Mary Dodge (President), Viviana Casillas (Vice President), Nicanor Diaz (Past President), Orlando Archibeque (Treasurer), Candy Markle (Secretary)

2015-2016 Officers

Nicanor Diaz (President), Mary Dodge (Vice President), Camila Alire (Past President), Orlando Archibeque (Treasurer), Gloria Chavira (Secretary)

New officers are elected each year and serve for 1 year from July 1 – June 30.

All members are encouraged to run for office.